Infrastructures

The Container Terminal

The container terminal is most definitely the terminal that embodies the ambition and the strength of character vested in the Kribi Port from the onset, that is, to be the backbone of Cameroon’s and the subregion’s economy in the years to come. As a matter of fact, it is the core of activities, as this infrastructure  is presented as one of the major projects of the seven-year “Greater Achievements” of President Paul Biya. The Kribi Conteneur Terminal (KCT) aims at making this place a vital port and logistics platform in the Central African subregion and even in the rest of the Gulf of Guinea. The dimensions and building of the insfrastructure were therefore developed accordingly.

With its top-notch infrastructure, namely wharfs with 16-meter depth, the terminal container to be operated by the KCT consortium can accomodate vessels of groundbreaking range in Western and Central Africa, that measure up to 400 meters and carry around 100,000 tons of products. In addition, it has modern and efficient shipping and handling tools. In accordance with the national port legislative and regulatory framework, the Port of Kribi granted concession of this activity to KCT which is a cluster of internationally reputable operators with high expertise, so as to ensure provision of good quality services. The combination of quality infrastrucutre and inured operators should therefore warrant vessels and cargo in transit, services complying with international standards.

The container terminal therefore provides the following services and equipment:

  • Quay length : 394 meters
  • A maintenance workshop for equipment
  • Two (2) post-Panamax ship-to-shore (STS) gantries
  • Five (5) rubber-tired gantries (RTG)
  • A 14ha area dedicated to container storing
  • Four(4) weighing stations located at the land entrance of the port area
  • A productivity rate that can reach up to 350,000 EVP/year

The Multipurpose Terminal

The multipurpose terminal, built to carry non-containerised cargoes, has a nominal accomodation capacity of 1.2 million tons of products per year, whereas the container terminal can process 300,000 Twenty Equivalent Units per year on a normal operating regime. Both terminals have the following equipment and facilities dedicated to storing and stacking cargoes:

  • Quay length: 265 m
  • Warehouse of more than 4,000 m²
  • Storage areas of 10 ha
  • Two jib cranes with a lifting capacity of 25 and 40 tons to handle heavy cargo
  • A maintenance workshop for equipement
  • Administrative and technical facilities

SHARED EQUIPMENT

Both terminals share the following equipment and facilities:

  • Running rails for  ship-to-shore (STS) gantry cranes
  • A fence compliant with the ISPS Code (dimensions, building materials) around areas providing port services
  • A road network inside the port area covering 233,686m² of roads including a concrete and paved road
  • A fire brigade equipped with 2 tanks of 500m3, 2 electrical pumps and one diesel pump to guarantee a debit of 80L per second for warehouses located on the multipurpose terminal and 50L per second for the terminal container, 1 jockey pump and 1 pressure tank to maintain a 4-bar pressure in the network
  • A pump and drinking-water treatment unit made up of 4 boreholes of 60m to 70m each: Q = 10 m3/h, HMT = 30 m, Power = 4 kW ( in terms of operations, 2 boreholes are in use while the 2 others are stand-by boreholes) and a waste water treatment plant
  • An electrivity supply system made up of a power plant (3 Diesel generators, 2 operating and 1 for emergency cases: Unit power: 3,250 kVA/ 2,600 kW COP, Voltage 10kV, Frequency 50Hz and Rotation speed: 1,500 tr/mn) and electrical stations SS1 and SS2
  • A lighting system for operating areas and consisting of the following:
    • 15 poles of 35m for storage areas, equipped with projectors of 1,000W and 2,000W. Light provision for these poles will be managed through a control computer located in the administrative building; 2 poles of 20m for area located behind South Revetment; street lights for the roads in the port area:
    • 65 lamp posts of 8m equipped with a 250W lamp;
    • 20 lamp posts of 10m equipped with a 400W lamp.

Infrastructures

Le Terminal à conteneurs

Le terminal à conteneurs est certainement, mieux que tous les autres, celui qui incarne l’ambition et la force de caractère conférée au Port de Kribi, depuis le départ, à savoir, être le point de référence à partir duquel se reconstruira l’économie camerounaise et sous-régionale des prochaines années. Car, toute l’équation est là, pour cette architecture que l’on présente comme l’un des projets majeurs du septennat des « Grandes réalisations » du Président Paul Biya. Kribi Conteneurs Terminal (KCT) entend en effet faire de cet endroit, une plateforme portuaire et logistique incontournable dans la sous-région Afrique centrale et même dans le reste du Golfe de Guinée. C’est dans cette optique que l’infrastructure a été dimensionnée et construite.

Grâce à ses infrastructures de premier ordre, dont notamment des quais fondés à -16 mètres de profondeur, le terminal à conteneurs qu’exploitera désormais le consortium KCT est capable d’accueillir des navires d’une envergure inédite en Afrique occidentale et centrale, pouvant atteindre 400 mètres et emporter quelques 100 000 tonnes de produits. Il dispose en outre d’outils modernes et performants, notamment en matière d’aide à la navigation, et de manutention. Conformément au cadre législatif et règlementaire portuaire national, le Port de Kribi a concédé cette activité à KCT qui regroupe des opérateurs à la réputation et à l’expertise reconnues internationalement, afin d’assurer la qualité des prestations rendues. La combinaison de la qualité des infrastructures et du savoir-faire des opérateurs retenus, devrait ainsi garantir aux navires et aux marchandises transitant en son cœur, un service aux meilleurs standards internationaux.

Le terminal à conteneurs offre ainsi les services et équipements suivants :

  • Un linéaire de quai : 394 mètres
  • un atelier d’entretien et de maintenance d’équipements
  • Deux (02) portiques de quai post-panamax (STS)
  • Cinq (05) portiques de parc (RTG)
  • Une aire d’entreposage des conteneurs d’une superficie de 14 Ha
  • Quatre (4) stations de pesage aux guérites d’accès terrestre de l’enceinte portuaire
  • Une productivité pouvant atteindre le seuil de 350 000 EVP/an

Le Terminal polyvalent

Le terminal polyvalent, dont le destin est d’accueillir des marchandises non-conteneurisées, a une capacité nominale d’hébergement de 1,2 millions de tonnes de produits par an, tandis que le terminal à conteneurs peut traiter en régime de fonctionnement normal 300 000 Twenty Equivalent Unit (TEU) par an. Les deux terminaux disposent d’équipements aménagés pour le stockage et l’entreposage des marchandises reparties ainsi qu’il suit :

  • Un linéaire de quai de 265 m
  • Des entrepôts de plus de 4 000 m²
  • Des terre-pleins pavés d’une superficie de 10 Ha
  • Deux grues à flèche pour la manutention des colis lourds de capacités de levage respectives de 25 et 40 tonnes
  • un atelier de maintenance et d’entretien
  • des bâtiments administratifs et techniques dédiés

EQUIPEMENTS PARTAGES

Les deux terminaux possèdent en commun les équipements suivants :

  • Des rails de roulement des portiques de quai
  • Une clôture aux normes du Code ISPS (dimensions de la clôture, matériaux de construction) autour des espaces de production des services portuaires
  • Un réseau routier à l’intérieur du port qui couvre 233.686 m2 de voies navigables comprenant une route en béton et en pavés
  • Une station de sapeurs-pompiers équipée de : 2 réservoirs de 500 m3, 2 pompes électriques et une (01) pompe diesel pour assurer un débit de 80 l/s pour les magasins du terminal polyvalent et 50  l/s pour le terminal à conteneurs, 1 pompe jockey et 1 réservoir pressurisant pour maintenir une pression de 4 bars dans le réseau
  • Une unité de pompage et de traitement d’eau potable comprenant 4 forages d’une profondeur de 60 à 70 m chacun : Q = 10 m3/h, HMT = 30 m, Puissance = 4 kW, le principe d’utilisation des forages est 2 en marche et 2 en stand-by, une station d’épuration des eaux usées;
  • Un système d’alimentation en énergie électrique comprenant une centrale électrique (3 groupes électrogènes Diesel dont 2 mis en marche et le 3e prévu pour le secours : puissance unitaire 3 250 kVA/ 2 600 kW COP, Tension 10 kV, Fréquence 50 Hz et vitesse de rotation : 1500 tr/min) et des postes électriques SS1 et SS2
  • Un système d’éclairage des aires d’opérations composé de :
    • 15 mats de hauteur 35 m pour l’éclairage des zones de stockage, équipés de projecteurs 1000 et 2000 W. La gestion de l’éclairage de ces mats se fera à travers un ordinateur de supervision installé dans le bâtiment administratif ; 2 mats de hauteur 20 m pour l’éclairage de la zone située à l’arrière de South Revetment ; Lampadaires pour l’éclairage des routes dans le port :
    • 65 lampadaires de hauteur 8 m, équipés de lampe de puissance 250 W ;
    • 20 lampadaires de hauteur 10 m, équipés de lampe de puissance 400 W.